Find out more about this
Gesmer Updegrove has represented more than 125 standards consortia and open source foundations, including:
View Full Client List
Useful Links

Communications Center Press Center Sitemap


Text Size:
Default  Large

RSS Feeds

Bookmark and Share

Standard Setting Organizations
and Standards List

Health Level Seven (HL7)

Overview: Health Level Seven (HL7) is an ANSI-accredited Standards Developing Organization (SDO) that produces standards in the domain of clinical and administrative data. Its mission is to provide standards for the exchange, management, and integration of data that support clinical patient care and the management, delivery, and evaluation of healthcare services. HL7 aims to create effective approaches, standards, guidelines, methodologies, and related services for interoperability between healthcare information systems. Members include providers, vendors, payers, consultants, government groups and others who have an interest in the development and advancement of clinical and administrative standards for healthcare. The most widely used specification developed by HL7 is its messaging standard, which enables disparate healthcare applications to exchange key sets of clinical and administrative data. Members of HL7 are organized into technical committees and special interest groups. The technical committees are directly responsible for the content of the standards. Special interest groups serve as a test bed for exploring new areas that may need coverage in HL7™s published standards.

Specifications: Available at:

IPR Policy: See Section 16, available at:

Current Status: Active

» Back to Complete List