Find out more about this
Gesmer Updegrove has represented more than 132 standards consortia and open source foundations, including:
View Full Client List
Useful Links

Press Center Sitemap


Text Size:
Default  Large

RSS Feeds

Bookmark and Share

Standard Setting Organizations
and Standards List

Standards Council of Canada (SCC)

Overview: The Standards Council of Canada (SCC) was established by the Standards Council of Canada Act, which received Royal Assent in 1970. The SCC is a federal Crown corporation with the mandate to promote standardization, and has a 15-member governing Council and a staff of approximately 80. The organization reports to Parliament through the Minister of Industry and oversees Canada's National Standards System. The SCC's work includes: standards, in which the SCC accredits organizations that develop standards in Canada based on internationally recognized guides and standards; conformity assessment, or the practice of determining whether a product, service or system meets the requirements of a particular standard; intergovernmental affairs and trade, in which the SCC advises federal, provincial and territorial governments, industry organizations and nongovernmental bodies on standards and conformity assessment related aspects of trade and regulatory policy. The SCC accredits four types of conformity assessment organizations: product certification bodies; testing and calibration laboratories; management systems registration bodies; and personnel certification. A major focus is to encourage governments and industries to make greater use of the National Standards System in regulatory activities and trade agreements. There is also an SCC Member Program which provides skills enhancement and training, and encourages and recognizes the contributions of program participants.

Specifications: Available at:

IPR Policy: Not available

Current Status: Active

» Back to Complete List