Find out more about this
Gesmer Updegrove has represented more than 125 standards consortia and open source foundations, including:
View Full Client List
Useful Links

Communications Center Press Center Sitemap


Text Size:
Default  Large

RSS Feeds

Bookmark and Share

Standard Setting Organizations
and Standards List

National Information Standards Organization (NISO)

Overview: The National Information Standards Organization (NISO), was founded in 1939 and incorporated as an education association in 1983. It identifies, develops, maintains, and publishes technical standards to manage information in a digital environment. These standards, developed through consensus, identify model methods, materials, or practices for libraries, bibliographic and information services, and publishers. NISO standards apply to both traditional and new technologies as well as to information-related needs, including retrieval, re-purposing, storage, metadata, and preservation. NISO has developed and approved over 30 national standards, with more standards in development. All NISO standards undergo a review and maintenance cycle. Throughout the year NISO sponsors programs on standards issues and exploratory workshops on emerging topics. It mostly serves organizations in the fields of publishing, libraries, IT and media.

Specifications: Available at:

IPR Policy: Available at:

Current Status: Active

» Back to Complete List